05 22 2013 Special School Board Meeting 1 00 PM

eAgenda POLK COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS

For ADA assistance, contact the Office of Equity and Compliance, 534-0781, at least 3 business days before the meeting. A voluntary invocation may be offered the opening of the School Board meeting by a private citizen. The views or beliefs expressed in the invocation have not been reviewed nor approved by the School Board, and the Board is not allowed, by law, to endorse the religious beliefs or view of this, or any other speaker.

Pledge of Allegiance

Call Meeting to Order

Acceptance of Agenda

1. Accept the May 22, 2013 Special School Board Meeting Agenda

Motions:	
Motion to accept the May 22, 2013 agenda.	- PASS
Vote Results	
Motion: Lori Cunningham	
Second: Debra Wright	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

Special Recognitions

Public Comments on Agenda Items

2. <u>SPEAKERS</u>

Minutes:

Larry Milhorn, AFSCME President, asked the Board to be fair to all candidates.

LD Wilcox asked the Board to vote for a person from the outside who can takes us to the next level.

Don Brown, NAACP President, asked the Board to select and support the candidate best for staff and students.

Addison Brown asked the Board to choose a candidate that can turn us around.

Approval of Minutes

Approval of Consent Agenda

New Administrator Announcements

Consent

Regular

Administration - School Board

3. New Superintendent of Schools

Attachment: <u>Mrs. Kathryn M LeRoy.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>Dr. Constance A Jones.pdf</u> Attachment: <u>Mr. David F. Lewis.pdf</u>

Minutes:

Hazel Sellers outlined the two-part selection process to be used. First, each Board Member will rank each candidate first, second and third. Three points will be awarded for each first place vote, two for second place and one point for third. The points will be calculated and the two candidates with the most points will move forward to phase 2. Once it is clear who is going to be selected, the Board will take a formal vote allowing the new Superintendent to be selected unanimously.

Each Board Member shared their comments on their candidate of choice.

After each Board Member ranked the candidates, Dr. Constance Jones received 14 points, Mrs. Kathryn LeRoy received 17, and Mr. David Lewis received 11. Mrs. LeRoy and Dr. Jones advanced to phase 2 of the selection process. Board Member listed their first and second choice. Jones. Mrs. LeRoy was selected as the new superintendent with a 5/2 count; Hunt Berryman and Lori Cunningham named Dr. Jones as their first choice.

Motions:

Motion to select Kathryn LeRoy as Superintendent - PASS of Schools.

Vote Results

Motion: Hunt Berryman	
Second: Lori Cunningham	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye
Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

Motion Minutes:

Motions:

Motion to negotiate a three year contract with	- PASS
Mrs. LeRoy.	- FA33

Vote Results

Motion: Dick Mullenax	
Second: Lori Cunningham	
Hunt Berryman	- Aye
Lori Cunningham	- Aye

Kay Fields	- Aye
Tim Harris	- Aye
Dick Mullenax	- Aye
Hazel Sellers	- Aye
Debra Wright	- Aye

4. Transition Plan

Minutes:

All candidates had responded earlier to the Board Chair's inquiry that they could assume the role of Superintendent on June 1st. A transition plan was not necessary.

Public Hearing

Superintendent's Report

5. <u>Superintendent's Report</u>

Minutes:

Dr. Stewart announced that he received an email from Denise Price, teacher at Lake Shipp Elementary, who asked to donate her \$150 supply fund to the Oklahoma tornado victims. Dr. Stewart was touched by her gesture and enlisted the assistance of Leah Lauderdale, Senior Director Strategic Communication, Margaret Ann Wheeler, Senior Coordinator Community Relations ,and Susan Copeland, Polk Education Foundation Director,to develop a fund drive for the victims.

Outside organizations KidsPack and Browning Moving & Storage will assist in the endeavor.

Robert Scott, Rotary International Board of Directors, will enlist the help of the Rotary Club also.

Attorney's Report

Auditor's Report

Board Members' Report

6. Hunt Berryman, District 1

- 7. Lori Cunningham, District 2
- 8. Hazel Sellers, District 3
- 9. Dick Mullenax, District 4
- 10. Kay Fields, District 5
- 11. Debra Wright, District 6
- 12. Tim Harris, Distrcit 7

Public Comments Addressing Items Not on Agenda

13. SPEAKERS

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 2:16 PM. Minutes were approved and attested this 28th day of May, 2013.

Hazel Sellers, Board Chair

John A. Stewart, Ed.D., Superintendent